Observed Trials
May 19, 2024, 04:18:25 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Keith Adams Video  (Read 5365 times)
Sideup

View Profile Email
« on: November 22, 2012, 03:40:13 am »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1aw6708VSA

Keith Adams Burnin' daylight motorcycle trials - sports video

If you don't know the history one might think of this video as a little narcissistic, but let me tell you Keith's story first:

I first met Keith Adams in 1975 I believe.  He was just about the only serious trials rider in Idaho at that time.  A completely self taught rider after all we are talking Idaho.
He was kind enough to let me come up from Pocatello to his home in Oakley, Idaho and show me how to ride trials.  I cannot tell you how much he taught me. He also became a very good friend.  I of course was about 20 when I first met Keith but as I think back after all these years he is probably the most humble person I have ever met.
He became infamous on the National Trials circuit  as the crazy guy from Idaho who wore tennis shoes instead of trials boots. 

What seemed like a crazy thing to do, once you got to know Keith made perfect sense for him.   This was the days of No-Stop trials and he told me by wearing tennis shoes he always made sure to know exactly where his feet and pegs were and always took great care not to bash into these large boulders insuring not to be knocked off his line or stopping forward movement.  He also said it allowed him to move around on the bike better.   If you ever watched Keith ride he was as smooth of rider as you would ever find.  Once everyone got to see him ride, he earned every national champ riders full respect.